Faculty Leadership of Assessment

As of AY 2019-2020, there are two separate organs of university-level faculty leadership on degree-level assessment, each playing very different roles. Neither organ plays any role in the oversight of degree-level assessment, which remains the purview of Academic Affairs and the Provost's Office.   

Faculty Reviewer Fellows

The Faculty Reviewer Fellows work with the CTE to review each and every annual report filed by KU's 200+ degree programs. In the spirit of peer-to-peer knowledge sharing, these fellows offer feedback to their colleagues on their assessment practices and help the CTE design and facilitate various forms of educational outreach to KU faculty.

  • Brian Barnes, Associate Professor of Pharmacy
    • Brian has previously sat on the UAAC overseeing degree-level assessment and directed school-wide assessment in Pharmacy for a number of years. His interests in assessment transcend program review and move into peer-review-level contributions to the science of teaching and learning. Brian has expertise in health sciences assessment, quantitative methods, and professional accreditation.
  • Michelle Hayes, Professor of Dance
    • Michelle has managed and promoted assessment in Dance for a number of years, including participating in KU's annual Student Learning Symposium and helping her colleagues in last year’s Documenting Learning Collaborative. She joins the reviewer team as a representative of KU’s more creative and non-quantitative disciplinary fields. She is particularly interested in how assessment processes dovetail with DEI concerns.
  • Rachel Krause, Associate Professor of Public Affairs and Administration
    • Rachel recently completed a multiple-year stint on the UCCC overseeing general education assessment. She serves as the DGS of KU’s MPA program and guided the program through a successful reaccreditation cycle. Her efforts have also merited a campus-wide KU assessment award. She has expertise in graduate-level assessment, social science analysis, and disciplinary accreditation.

Fellows for Pilot Year in AY 2018-2019

  • Brian Barnes, School of Pharmacy
  • Allard Jongman, Linguistics
  • Emma Scioli, Classics


Annual Reports

These annual reports are drafted by the documenting learning specialist in consultation with the faculty reviewers after they have reviewed all department-level submissions. Drafts of the report are circulated to the provost's office and the faculty advisory board for their commentary before being posted publicly.


Faculty Advisory Board for Degree-Level Asssessment

The Faculty Advisory Board for Degree-Level Assessment meets once per semester with academic leadership and professional staff to provide feedback on upcoming policy revisions, program design, and outreach strategies. The ranks of the advisory board are populated by full-time faculty selected through one of two mechanisms: about half of the board is nominated by deans from each of KU's schools, while the other half is nominated by the Center for Teaching Excellence in consultation with Faculty Senate.

  • CTE Nominees
    • David Benson, Chemistry
    • Christopher Fischer, Physics
    • Jeff Hall, Communication Studies
    • Bruce Hayes, French & Italian
    • Ashely Herda, HSES & Edwards Campus
    • Cambrey Nguyen, Pharmacy
    • Meagan Patterson, Educational Psychology
    • Joan Sereno, Linguistics
    • Stacey Swearingen White, Public Affairs & Administration
    • Lorie Vanchena, German
  • Deans' Offices' Nominees
    • Jody Brook, Social Welfare
    • Yvonnes Chen, Journalism
    • Andrea Herstowski, Architecture & Design
    • Steven Leonard, Business
    • Lorin Maletsky, Engineering
    • Janelle Ruisinger, Pharmacy
    • Betsy Six, Law
    • Holly Storkel, Arts & Sciences
  • Assessment Leadership 
    • Joshua Potter, Documenting Learning Specialist
    • Jean Redeker, Assistant Vice Provost for Academic Affairs
    • Brian Barnes, CTE Reviewer Fellow, Pharmacy
    • Rachel Krause, CTE Reviwer Fellow, Public Affairs & Administration
    • Michelle Hayes, CTE Reviewer Fellow, Theatre & Dance

Prior to AY 2019-2020

For the five academic years prior to AY 2019-2020, KU maintained the University Academic Assessment Committee (UAAC) with faculty members drawn from each of the university's schools. This committee oversaw the annual reporting process, reviewed the content of these reports, awarded distinctions for excellence in assessment, and aided the CTE in its promotion of best practices in assessment. By mutual assent of its members, in coordination with Academic Affairs, the CTE, and Faculty Senate, the UAAC dissolved itself in AY 2018-2019. This dissolution led to the formation of the two organs described above.

Quick Hits
KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times